Document Expiration

Use this feature to set an expiration rule on the document.

Last published at: November 6th, 2026

This feature manages document expiration rules.

Access the DMS from the left pane. 

 

The DMS page opens in a new page, as shown in the example below. Navigate to a DMS folder to view its contents.  

 

Use the “Search” text box to filter the folder list. 

 

Select a document from the folder. Click the ellipsis to view the context menu for this document. You can navigate to “Copy, Rename, Remove, Check Out, Send Document, Get URL, Download, AI Copilot, Permissions, View History, View Revisions, Archive, Classifications, Document Expiration, and Details" features. Select the “Document Expiration” feature. 

 

Set the document expiration rule. You can choose from the following options: “No Expiration (default), Move To Recycle Bin, Archive, and Permanent Delete.”  Click the “Save” button. 

  • No Expiration - the document has no expiration rule.
  • Move to Recycle Bin - the document moves to the Recycle Bin once it expires.
  • Archive - the document is moved to the Archive folder once it expires.
  • Permanent Delete - the document is permanently removed once expired. 

 

Set the expiration date and time to move the document to the Recycle Bin. Click the “Save” button. 

 

Set the expiration date and time to archive the document. Click the “Save” button. 

 

Set the expiration date and time to permanently delete the document. Click the “Save” button. 

 

Once the expiration rule is set, a confirmation message appears in the top-right corner.